After being convicted for driving under the influence in Florida, the state will remove your driving privileges. Without access to this means of transportation, you are sure to find it much more inconvenient to go from place to place, whether for work or personal needs. As such, after a DUI conviction, you’ll want to get your license back as soon as possible. To learn what happens to your license after a DUI conviction, continue reading below.
Florida Hardship License
For first time offenders, the state will revoke your license for between 180 days to a full year. Furthermore, if the court determines that your offense included a charge of serious harm, then your suspension could last as long as three years. In order to qualify for a hardship license in Florida, applicants must complete DUI school or a substance treatment program within 90 days of reinstatement. Failure in completing these courses on time may result in a cancellation of your license.
The Costs of Driver’s License Reinstatement
Getting your driving privileges back isn’t quick, nor is it cheap. Expect to pay the administrative fee for alcohol and drug related offenses ($130) as well as the revocation fee ($75) in addition to the basic license fee. To get your license back, you will also need to have auto insurance. All in all, you’ll likely have to pay over $200 up front to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Second DUI Conviction
If you have a second DUI offense, you must wait one full year before you can request a hardship license. In that time, it is impossible to drive legally. Once a year has passed, Florida requires that you complete DUI school as well as a court-ordered treatment program, which are assigned at the judge’s discretion. Additionally, you’ll need a positive referral from the Special Services Program. The same reinstatement fees apply here.
Third and Fourth DUI Convictions
For three-time offenders, Florida mandates a two-year waiting period before you can apply for a hardship license. If you receive a fourth conviction, then the waiting period is extended to five years. After receiving a third or fourth conviction, then the state of Florida may revoke driving privileges for multiple years. For this reason, it is crucial to seek out professional guidance from an experienced Volusia County DUI attorney who can fight to protect your driving privileges.
After being convicted of driving under the influence, your Florida driver’s license may be at stake for a matter of months or years. Experienced DUI lawyers in Daytona Beach can review your case with you to guide you through the reinstatement process to get you back on the road as quickly and safely as possible, no matter if this is your first or fourth conviction. The law office of Genine Ann Mejia prepares each case for trial and does not back down when advocating for client rights.